World Cup Soccer Madness

21 Jul

So I’m a little late with this post but better late than never, right?

I didn’t purchase any tickets but I luckily managed to attend one of the World Cup soccer matches (my brother surprised me with tickets!) and though I’ll admit I’m not any type of sports fan, I had a BLAST!

I went to the USA vs. Slovenia match on Friday, 18 June at Ellis Park Stadium in Johannesburg, which unfortunately resulted in a 2-2 draw (would’ve been nice to see USA win).

Disappointing final score aside, it was a thrilling experience to be amidst all the energy and excitement (and noise) that occur when 60,000 people gather in an enclosed space…armed with vuvuzelas. Below are some photos from the game:

Enthusiastic USA fans


Soccer fan wears Makarapa Helmet


Soccer fan shows players support with his Vuvuzela


Vuvuzelas-a-blazing


USA fans


Most of the country seemed to be on a soccer high throughout the month of the World Cup, so it will be very interesting to see how quickly the energy fades over the next couple of weeks.

How long do you think the spirit of Ubuntu will remain?

4 Responses to “World Cup Soccer Madness”

  1. Mel July 21, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    I see you flexing your writing AND photography skills, boo!

    Hopefully the feeling of Ubuntu lasts for another month, but that guesstimate may be too long.

    • Mbali N. July 21, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

      Lol let’s hope your guesstimate is an underestimate!

  2. alexis July 22, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    soooo jealous!

    nyc misses you, lady!

    • Mbali N. July 29, 2010 at 12:53 am #

      I miss nyc! Hope you’ve been holding it down for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

